Search our Entire Website

Servers and Data Center Details

The plan for the servers in FFXIV: A Realm Reborn is to have servers that can host a maximum of 5000 simultaneous connections. Unlike in 1.0 the servers will be recommended for specific regions, this means the days of playing with both Americans and Japanese are likely to be over. It will still be possible to join a server recommended for a different region however it is unlikely that people will do so, after all people want the most people online in their timezone as possible.

The servers will be housed in two data centers; one located in Japan and one located in North America. It is thought that the NA data center is located in the Canadian city of Montreal however this has not been confirmed. European players are recommended to use the NA data center but within this data center there are some servers recommended for EU players.

There is also another important point regarding servers. New servers will be created where only newly created characters can play. This means people will be unable to transfer characters created in FFXIV 1.0 to these servers until Square Enix decides otherwise. This has been done for those who fear starting on servers with already established economies where players may have millions of gil.

New Worlds

The server structure for new characters only is below. They are named after summons and iconic monsters found within the Final Fantasy series.

JP Data Center NA/EU Data Center
Atomos Adamantoise
Bahamut Behemoth
Chocobo Cactuar
Garuda Coeurl
Ifrit Diabolos
Mandragora Gilgamesh
Ramuh Goblin
Tiamat Leviathan
Titan Malboro
Tonberry Midgardsormr
Cerberus (EU)
Moogle (EU)
Odin (EU)
Shiva (EU)

Legacy Worlds

Legacy Worlds are defined as those in which existing characters can be transfered to. New players can still join these should they choose. Legacy worlds are named after powerful weapons from the Final Fantasy series.

JP Data Center NA/EU Data Center
Aegis Balmung
Durandal Excalibur
Gungnir Hyperion
Masamune Sargatanas
Ridill Ragnarok

A History of Legacy Worlds

Legacy worlds weren't always named after weapons as they are now. Originally FFXIV launched with 17 worlds; which was reduced to 10 after a poor launch forced server merges. The original servers were named after towns featured in the first 13 games of the Final Fantasy series.

The details of this server merge is below. It may help some people understand what happened to their original characters if they played before the merge but nor since.

Original Current
Selbina Ridill
Wutai + Gyashl Masamune
Rabanastra + Cornelia Durandal
Melmond + Figaro Aegis
Istory + Mysidia Gungnir
Saronia + Lindblum Sargatanas
Fabul + Besaid Balmung
Trabia + Kashuan Hyperiod
Karnak + Palamecia Excalibur

In addition to these merged and renamed servers, a new server called Ragnarok was created. This server was labelled as being recommended for players who were in European timezones. However not every EU player chose to transfer to this world, many were still attached to their original.


The following comments are from our legacy commenting system.

Swordsman [Anon]
Sep 20, 2013 - 16:20:04 | Location: Nowhere, In a Box

What about transferring from one newly created server to another? My brothers and I are playing where we first started on a newer JA server, Ramuh (we couldn't get on any NA server at the time due to one of many character restrictions), and we now want to get onto an NA server (Leviathan) where my friend is at, but rather than starting over from scratch, we were wanting to transfer servers. Anything on this?
Jul 01, 2013 - 22:08:18 | Location: Durham, United Kingdom

Legacy players can create new characters on new servers but can't transfer their characters to new servers. The source would be the world transfers that are happening right now. I am legacy myself and I can only select the servers listed above as legacy.
Jun 15, 2013 - 00:56:36 | Location: Nowhere, In a Box

Where is the source of this article? I have friends who don't believe me when I say that Legacy players can only roll on Legacy servers, but I cannot find ANYTHING official stating this.
Jun 09, 2013 - 22:23:52 | Location: Durham, United Kingdom

Yeah the idea was good in theory however, but not in practice. The biggest problem however was the latency when accessing the JP servers from NA and EU. They have changed this with ARR (just updated this page with the new info) but it seems EU players will still be connecting to servers far away. Being in the UK I have a good enough ping to Montreal which is where the data center is thought to be so I can't complain.
Jun 01, 2010 - 21:43:06 | Location: Nowhere, In a Box

In my opinion on of the big mistakes they made on Final Fantasy XI was not having the servers Region specific and having Japanese players play together with American players, I love playing with Japanese players but most of them just won’t play with us and that will cut the number of players we will be able to play with and find it harder to find a group.