Search our Entire Website


The races within Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn are the same ones that are in Final Fantasy XI, but with different names. This was done so that the players would have a familiar feel to the game. However a new race called Au Ra was added in the Heavensward expansion.


Races - Hyur

The Hyur race has the highest population within the region of Eorzea; where they migrated in three waves. With them they brought advanced technology and rapidly became a driving force behind cultural progress. The Hyur were known as the Hume race in Final Fantasy XI.


Races - Elezen

The Elezen race were the first race to exist in the lands of Eorzea and have adapted to their environment by becoming taller and evolving more sensitive ears. Throughout the history of the Elezen race they have fought wars with the Hyurs as they believed their migration to their lands was an invasion. However they now live peacefully together. The Elezen were known as the Elvaan race in Final Fantasy XI.


Races - Lalafell

The Lalafell migrated to Eorzea from the islands of the south when trade routes began to spring up. Being short gives them increbile agility and they are said to be an intelligent race. Th Lalafell were known as the Tarutaru race in Final Fantasy XI.


Races - Roegadyn

The Roegadyn are a maritime race who are mostly found in the northern seas. They are a very muscular race and are known for the cultural emphasis they place on competition and courage. In Final Fantasy XI the Roegadyn were known as the Galka race, however in Final Fantasy XIV they do not have a tail.


Races - Miqo'te

The Miqo'te race migrated to Eorzea during the Age of Endless Frost when the seas turned to ice and allowed them to cross. Since then, they have separated into two physically distinguishable groups known as the Diurnal Seekers of the Sun and the Nocturnal Keepers of the Moon. The Miqo'te are few in number within Eorzea and prefer to live isolated lifestyled, avoiding contact with the other races. The Miqo'te were known as the Mithra race in Final Fantasy XI.

Au Ra

Races - Au Ra

The curved horns and beautifully patterned scales that characterize the Au Ra oft give rise to speculation that this Hyur-like race native to the Far Eastern continent of Othard are, in fact, the progeny of dragons. This, however, has long been disputed, with scholars citing several distinct differences in the two races as evidence of decidedly dissimilar roots-the first and foremost being the enhanced hearing and spatial recognition granted by an Au Ra's cranial projections (traits not attributed to draconian horns), and the second being the gross disproportion in body mass between Auri males and females (again, a trait widely unseen in dragons).

The Au Ra race was added in the Heavensward expansion.

Starting Attributes

The starting attributes for the races in FFXIV: ARR are very similar and should not be used to determine which race you wish to start as. In FFXI the starting attributes mattered much more than they do in this game so it is a good idea to forget that. At higher levels when you have hundreds of attributes a difference of 1-6 of a specific stat is going to be irrelevant. However it is still worth listing the stats because some people are interested. They are in the table below.

Hyur Midlander 21 19 20 21 18 21
Hyur Highlander 23 20 22 18 20 17
Elezen Wildwood 19 23 18 22 17 21
Elezen Duskwight 20 20 19 23 20 18
Lalafell Dunesfolk 17 20 17 21 22 23
Lalafell Plainsfolk 18 22 18 21 20 21
Roegadyn Hellsguard 20 17 21 20 22 20
Roegadyn Sea Wolf 22 18 23 17 21 19
Miqo'te Keeper of the Moon 18 21 17 19 23 22
Miqo'te Seeker of the Sun 21 22 20 18 19 20
Au Ra Raen 17 21 18 20 22 22
Au Ra Xaela 23 20 21 20 17 19